Past Pupils’ Awards Evening 2017

On Tuesday, 7th November, we welcomed back last year’s Year 11 students, along with their parents, to our annual prize-giving celebration evening.

It was pleasing to see so many of our former students celebrate their achievements, not just in the GCSE examinations, but also their commitment and hard work over the last academic year. In addition, service to the school and outstanding attendance were also recognised. Prizes for individual subjects were nominated by the teaching staff based on progress, achievement, effort, behaviour and enthusiasm for the subject.

Mr Shields welcomed the students back to the school and reminded them of their contribution to the school’s achievements, particularly in the past year, with the award of Croydon School of the Year and our successful Ofsted inspection. He also spoke of the values which the school had instilled in each student over the years and reminded them that, regardless of where their careers take them in the years ahead, they would always remain part of the St Mary’s family.

SMHS PrizeNight2017 PicYThe recent passing of Mr Maurice Reaney (Headteacher 1955-1986) was also commemorated with a reflection on his time at the school as well as his legacy to St Mary’s pupils - past, present and future.

The evening continued with the award of prizes by Mrs Englefield and Mrs Aboyade, following which students collecting their GCSE examination certificates. Special mention must be made of Roshidat Olawale who was awarded the annual Headteacher’s Award by Mr Shields. Deacon Tony started and finished the evening with prayers, including our special School Prayer.

Student Awards 2017
Religious Education Roshidat Olawale                   
English Literature  Janice Teye
English Language           Geraldine Unuigboje
Mathematics   Prakaash Sasitharan
Science Core D’andre Douglas
Science Triple Ayomide Otemolu
MFL – French Elijah Myersli
MFL – Spanish Cheissy Castano
Community Language Didar Karesie
History                                 Toluwanimi Mojola
Geography  Mehmet Demir
Drama Sarah Egbuonu
Art & Design Mikayla Aiyudubia
Physical Education Jahiem Daw
Product Design   Lamar Eccleston
Child Development Jordanne Harty
Ecdl                                       Subira Mohammed
Business Studies Luciana Serban
Finance Joel Mathew
Health & Social Care Helen Aworetan
Pastoral Prize Jeremiah Chima
Overall Achievement Geraldine Unuigboje
Award for Sports James Agho
Headteacher’s Award Roshidat Olawale


Special Commendadtion for Service to the School
Ruben Pereira                                    Head Boy
Jordanne Harty Head Girl
Prakaash Sasitharan Deputy Head Boy (Academic Affairs)
Kenaz Rodrigues Fernandes Deputy Head Boy (Welfare Affairs)
Roshidat Olawale Deputy Head Girl ( Academic Affairs)
Bilquees Sheikh Deputy Head Girl (Welfare Affairs)



100% Attendance Awards
 Noman Ahmad                           Elijah Myers
 Reuben Andoh  Roshidat   Olawale
 Helen   Aworetan  Sarah   Oyeneyin
 Jahiem Daw  Ruben Pereira
 Sarah Egbuonu  Oluwatoyin   Sotimehin
 Jesse   Frimpong  Anna Maria   Ssemuju
 Jordanne Harty  Tatiana Tomas   Pegado Correia
 Esther   Johnson  Geraldine   Unuigboje
 Debora Momoh  






























Please click on the image below to see a gallery of photographs from the event.